Tattletale – Sarah J Naughton

BOOK REVIEW

Tattletale Book Cover Tattletale
Sarah J. Naughton
Orion / Hachette
February 16, 2017
336

 

Once upon a time, there was a little girl who believed in fairytales. Now she is out to get your happy ending.

 

One day changes Jody's life forever. She has shut herself down, haunted by her memories and unable to trust anyone. But then she meets Abe, the perfect stranger next door and suddenly life seems full of possibility and hope.

 

One day changes Mags's life forever. After years of estrangement from her family, Mags receives a shocking phone call. Her brother Abe is in hospital and no-one knows what happened to him. She meets his fiancé Jody, and gradually pieces together the ruins of the life she left behind. But the pieces don't quite seem to fit...

 

For fans of Disclaimer and I Let You Go, Tattletale is the debut psychological thriller you can't miss.

 

TATTLETALE

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

 

Sarah J Naughton grew up in Dorset, on a diet of tales of imperiled heroines and wolves in disguise. As an adult her reading matter changed but those dark fairytales had deep roots. Her debut children’s thriller, THE HANGED MAN RISES, featured a fiend from beyond the grave menacing the streets of Victorian London, and was shortlisted for the 2013 Costa award. TATTLETALE is her first adult novel, and has a monster of a different kind. Sarah lives in Central London with her husband and two sons.

 

 

WHAT OTHER PEOPLE ARE SAYING

 

It leaves much open to interpretation as well – and your thinking about who the victim is and who the suspect is will be questioned. – The Book Muse

Naughton creates a multitude of options as to who the culprit might be, which will keep you guessing until the final, vengeful chapter. – Townsville Bulletin, Weekend Post

 

 

ON THE BOOKCASE

 

Wow, what a nerve wracking ride this book turns out to be. Tattletale is so far from predictable your seat, the one you’re sitting on the edge of for most of the book, will probably join you. Which makes no real sense at all, which is how I felt the first few chapters in.

 

An interesting approach by the Author to introduce the characters back stories, can leave you initially confused and even when you think you’ve caught on, nothing is as it seems, especially the lead characters. I honestly found most of the characters hard to warm to and the structure of the book initially put me off.

 

It’s not that sort of book though. You are going to find it hard to warm to the characters, you are going to feel ill at ease and a certain level of discomfort for most of the book. That’s the sort of book it is. A thriller. With a plot that thickens and twists in all the right places when you least expect them. Just how I like my thrillers to be.

 

While I would prefer to resonate or at least find the characters somewhat palatable, I much prefer a gripping story line and a book I don’t want to put down. Having said that, you really do need to get through the first few chapters and confusion before you find your way and the book gets its grip on you.

 

You can find out more about what’s currently On the Bookcase at AMC {HERE}!

 

Mystery Case
Managing Editor of Agent Mystery Case. Follow Raychael aka Mystery Case on her mystery adventures 'casing' people, products and places to bring you her worth casing favourites.
About Mystery Case 626 Articles
Managing Editor of Agent Mystery Case. Follow Raychael aka Mystery Case on her mystery adventures 'casing' people, products and places to bring you her worth casing favourites.